Wednesday, 27 April 2016

Announcement: Satang Besar Island Dxpedition, IOTA OC-165

Amateur Radio Club Sarawak, 9M8RC will be active from Satang Besar Island OC-165

between 30th April to 2nd May 2016.

QRV on 80m, 40m, 20m, 15m. 10m HF bands. 


9M8ADX, 9M8WAT, 9W8DEN, 9W8CH, 9W8KIF, 9W8PTS, 9W8FIZ.

QSL via 9W8KIF

  • 3D2N estimated RM240.00 per person including accommodation and boat transfer. 
  • All are welcome to participate. Registration close on 22/04/2016 5.00pm
  • Club sponsor foods & drinks to all, additional subsidize RM40 for 3D2N participants.
  • RM200 for 2D1N participants per person including accommodation and boat transfer.

ARCS 2016 Annual Activities

During the 1st committee meeting on 8th April 2016, the committee had decided to plan & organised or join in the following activities for year 2016.

  1. World Amateur Radio Day on 18th April 2016 - participate from 1100 UTC to 1600 UTC (7.00pm - 12.00am MST) by using the callsign 9M8RC at clubhouse. 
  2. Satang Besar Island Dxpedition, IOTA OC-165 on 30th April - 2nd May 2016
  3. RAE preparation class in May 2016
  4. Buka puasa eyeball dinner in June 2016
  5. Spring Run 2016 communication support on 05th June 2016
  6. SUKMA communication support on 22nd - 31st July 2016
  7. Kuching Marathon 2016 communication support on 14th August 2016
  8. Lighthouse & Lightship weekend in Miri on 20th - 21st August 2016
  9. NVIS Emergency communication simulation exercise in Sibu in September 2016
  10. JOTA-JOTI for scouts in 2016 (Proposed in Bintulu) on 14th - 16th October 2016
  11. ARCS Family Day in December 2016

Tuesday, 5 April 2016


Club Advisors : 1. Mr. Johnny Tan (9M8DB)
2. Mr. Allan Ming (9M8MA)

President             : Mr. Liew Chung Haw (9W8CH)
Vice President     : Mr.
Allpa bin Mohamed (9M8ADX)
Secretary              : Mr. Dennis Wong Kung Ho (9W8DEN)
Treasurer             : Mr. Keith Kong Chung Ik (9W8KIF)

Council Members
1. Mr.
Aldrin anak Peter Diman (9M8WAT)
2. Mr. Mohd Mahdi @ Nibi bin Abdullah (9W8MED)
3. Mr. Pung Tiong Seng (9W8PTS) 
4. Mr. Jong Siew Thin (9W8VAV)
5. Mr. Grade anak Dio (9W8GAD)

Auditors :
1. Mr Ong Chih Woei (9W8AAA)
2. Mr Kong Shin Ting (9W8STK)

Appointed Liaison Officers :
1. Sibu - Mr Jordan Lau Teck Yu (9W8SIR)
2. Bintulu - Mr Alvin Johnson (9W8ALV)
3. Miri - Mr Iqbal bin Abdollah (9W8IQA)

Thank you very much for the 2014-2016 office bearers who had contributed and support us all the way.

We wish all members to give your full support and participate in any of our activity.

Trust you all well.

Thank you

Liew Chung Haw